Eight area football players earn All-State honors

Knudson, McGurren-Leal and Buckholdt receive first-team nod from Iowa Newspaper Association

 DES MOINES -- Three area players were named first-team All-State and five more were also honored when the Iowa Newspaper Association released its 2015 All-State Football teams Wednesday.
 A panel of sports writers selected three all-state teams per class while also naming six honorary senior captains. All four teams from the Harlan Newspapers’ coverage area were represented by at least one player.
 Local first-teamers included Harlan Community senior kicker Ethan Knudson, AHSTW senior lineman Tameron McGurren-Leal and Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton junior linebacker Drew Buckholdt.
 Selected as second-teamers were AHSTW senior Nathan Herbst and Exira-EHK senior Brady Hansen. Both two-way starters, Herbst and Hansen were honored for their efforts at defensive back.
 Third-team selections were HCHS senior offensive lineman Max Langenfeld, HCHS junior running back Nick Tarney and IKM-Manning senior offensive lineman (and linebacker) Jacob Thraen.

Read this story and the entire paper for only $1 online
Search back issues, email stories, flip through pages and skim headlines just as you would with a newspaper in your hands.
Create an account and buy a paper anytime you want for only $1 per issue Or buy a year subscription for $39.95



Comment Here